2013-2014 Season Awards Announced

The Brookings Blizzard held their 2013-2014 end of the year banquet on Sunday afternoon following their season finale win over the Minot Minotauros at the Larson Ice Center Saturday night.  The organization recognized players, coaches, volunteers, employees, billet families, and parents during the reception and awarded players for their outstanding play during the season. The following awards were announced:

Most Valuable Player: #13 Evan Hesse (Monticello, MN) Played in 58 games for the Blizzard and had 44 points with 16 goals and 28 assists. Hesse lead the team in assists, points, ten points ahead of the next best points total, and was tied for the lead in goals. Hesse competed in the 2014 Top Prospects Tournament in February.

Defensive Player of the Year: #9 Brandon Parker (Fairbault, MN) Recorded 34 points with 10 goals and 24 assists in 59 games with the Blizzard this season. Parker was the team’s leading scorer among defenseman and competed in the 2014 Top Prospects Tournament. He has committed to play next season at the University of Alabama-Huntsville.

Offensive Player of the Year: #5 Conor Andrle (St. Louis Park, MN) Has played in all 56 games for the Blizzard this season and is tied for second on the team with 34 points. He is also tied for the lead on the team with 16 goals. Andrle competed in the Top Prospects Tournament this spring and is committed to play at Army next season.

Rookie of the Year: #4 Wyatt Schmidt (Inver Grove Heights, MN) The first year defenseman played in 58 games for the Blizzard and earned a starting position with defensive partner Brandon Parker. He had 14 points with 4 goals and 10 assists, good for second among defenseman.

Most Improved Player:  #4 Wyatt Schmidt (Inver Grove Heights, MN)

Blizzard Award: #16 Nick DeCenzo (Hibbing, MN) Nick is one of only two players on this year’s roster who have played for the Blizzard for three season. He has spent his entire career with the organization and was named a team captain this past season. He was given this award for his outstanding play on the ice, leadership in the locker room, and his dedication to community service. Nick will play Division I hockey next season at Army.

All awards were voted on by the players.